Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Libraries

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is Ten Books I Loved Less/More than I thought I would. I’m going a bit off on the side rails with a variation this week…Top Ten Libraries I Love More Than Anyone Else (Because libraries are my favorite thing in the WHOLE WIDE UNIVERSE!).

I have lived in a lot of places. And when I travel, I am also known to wander into a nearby local library. It may known to occasionally drive my husband batty. “Why do you want to spend hours in a library when you already have that at home?” he says. “Who wouldn’t?!” I reply.

As you see, I am completely serious when I say I love libraries more than anyone else! And below, you will find my Top Ten Favorite Libraries That I Have Ever Visited.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Libraries That I Have Visited

Rosenbach Museum and Library

rosenbach-museum-and-library

I wanted to live at this Museum/Library during our time residing in Philadelphia. The Rosenbach is located within two 19th century townhouses at DeLancey Place in center-city Philly, and houses almost 400,000 rare books, manuscripts, and other fine arts and objects. From 1968 – 2014, the Rosenbach was also the sole repository for Maurice Sendak’s picture book illustrations.

The collection at the Rosenbach is AMAZING. Bram Stoker’s notes and outlines for Dracula; dozens of personal letters written by George Washington; William Blake first editions and original drawings; a first edition of Cervantes’ Don Quixote….I could go on and on with the treasures contained within the Rosenbach!

Princeton Public Library

1280px-princeton_public_library2c_princeton_nj

For three years, we lived about 15 minutes away from Princeton, in North Brunswick, New Jersey. This was my absolute favorite public library in the area, having only opened a few years before we moved to NJ. I loved the open layout, with lots of natural sunlight, and an incredibly fun tile mosaic at the entrance.

Cotsen Children’s Library

800px-cotsen_childrens_library_princeton

Princeton definitely knows how to do libraries. The Cotsen Children’s Library, located on the campus of Princeton University (and just down the street from the Princeton Public Library) is a magical wonderland for kids. M loved climbing into the tree book nook and curling up with me to read a good book or two…or ten. The Wishing Well was another fun reading spot.

Maison de la littérature

Located in Québec City, Canada, The Maison de la litterature promotes Québec literature and authors. Housed in the circa 1848 Wesley Temple, the interior is gorgeously modern.

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

43969e5733d5a6c7e284f22c25681fbf

Right next door to my undergrad alma mater, the University of Pittsburgh, and so much more beautiful than the dated Hillman Library, I used to occasionally ditch Hillman and head to either the Cathedral of Learning or the Carnegie Library to study. Anyway, everyone knew that the Hillman was THE place for not getting ANYTHING done.

State Library of Queensland

stringio

One of the newer buildings on this list, it’s hard to beat the State Library of Queensland, located adjacent to the Brisbane River, near South Bank, my favorite spot in Brisbane.

New York Public Library

1280px-new_york_public_library_lion_may_2011

NYPL speaks for itself. A visit to NYC isn’t complete without stopping by the NYPL, at the very least, to say hi to the lions, or visit the infamous Rose Room.

Folger Shakespeare Library

1024px-folger_reading_room

By Julie Ainsworth – Folger Shakespeare Library Digital

Everything Shakespeare! And randomly, considering it’s location in Washington, D.C., also home to the world’s largest collection of Shakespeare’s printed works. This is the library that introduced me to the wonderful world of William Shakespeare.

Martin Library – York, PA

0401be1d2505a4db9faf8c29a45ece091

This is the library where it all began. It’s nothing spectacular or special, but it’s where I fell in love with books. The Martin Library gave me my first library card, and my weekly trips to pick out new books as a child was one of the highlights of my week. This library will always hold a special place in my heart.

Charlotte Mecklenburg Library – North County Regional Branch

13453945__rcl24bfbwwlleozhdzkg40j_qkd76zbciiwfwpxlvw

This library isn’t very pretty, but it holds a wealth of treasure inside. We visit the North County Regional library at least once a week, and I hope M has as many fond memories of her childhood library visits as I do of mine. The librarians know her by name – and her reading tastes. We can always count on them for a great recommendation. And lucky for us, our branch is getting a multi-million dollar interior makeover next year!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Libraries

  1. Great post. I love libraries and often drag whoever I’m with to the library in whatever place I visit. If you ever make it to the UK I’d recommend Birmingham library. It’s mahoosive and seriously impressive inside and out.

  2. Wow! I love this list. Those Libraries are so epic. I don’t spend a lot of time in the library, opting to go spend hours at book stores instead. BUT, we don’t have anything as immaculate as those libraries. I’d love to spend a day in that Children’s library without my daughter. It’s magical.

  3. Aww these are fabulous! I like the library where I grew up- it isn’t big or anything but it’s… homey feeling I guess. The library where I live now is just SAD. It is run down, and has like no books. I think my college library was nothing special, not that I ever went in there 😉 Well, once I had a class, but it was in the basement so I literally only walked into the entrance hahah. I DO want to visit libraries when/if I get the chance to travel again, there are SO many gorgeous ones out there, as your post shows us! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment